

## **Membership Changes for the Winnipeg Police Board**

The Winnipeg Police Board extend its appreciation to two outgoing Board members and welcome two new members.

The Province has passed an Order in Council revoking the appointments of two members of the Winnipeg Police Board and making two new appointments, effective July 6, 2016. Under subsection 30(3) of the *Police Services Act*, two of the Winnipeg Police Board's seven members are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council.

Leslie Spillett and Angeline Ramkissoon served the Board since its first meeting in June 2013. They were instrumental in the development of the Board's first strategic plan for the Winnipeg Police Service, published in May 2015. As Chair of the Indigenous Liaison Committee, Leslie led the Board in fostering relationships with Winnipeg's Indigenous communities. As a member of the Budget and Finance Committee, she helped the Board prepare budget estimates and provide financial oversight of the Service. Angeline was an active member of the Governance Committee and helped the Board establish its Rules of Practice and Procedure and its first two policies for the effective management of the Winnipeg Police Service. Their contributions to the Board during its critical first years were significant and will have a lasting impact on the Board. The Board thanks them for their hard work and their commitment to civilian governance of police.

The Province announced that Larry Licharson and Alicja Szarkiewicz will be joining the Board as the two new Provincially-appointed members. The Board looks forward to working with them.

Media inquiries should be directed **Councillor Scott Gillingham**, **Chair of the Winnipeg Police Board**, at 204-986-5848 or via email at ScottGillingham@winnipeg.ca.

Follow us on Twitter: <a href="https://twitter.com/WpgPoliceBoard">https://twitter.com/WpgPoliceBoard</a>